google meet
/

Google Meet adds new capability to simultaneously end a video call for all

Google has added the ability for Workspace for Education Fundamentals or Education Plus hosts to end a video call for everyone at once, including people in breakout rooms, when they are done with a meeting and want to leave.

322 views

Starting today, organizers have two options when they are about to exit a meeting: they can either let the other participants stay on the call unsupervised or end the meeting for everyone at once.

For now, this capability is limited to Workspace Education Fundamentals or Education Plus accounts, which are the new names for G Suite for Education and G Suite Enterprise for Education following their rebranding last week. Google is also planning to introduce the new capability to other Workspace editions in the next few months.

ADVERTISEMENT

When going with the “end meeting for all” option, call participants will be automatically removed and informed that the host has ended the meeting and thereafter they will not be able to rejoin, unless the host rejoins first.
When you click the end call button during a meeting, a dialogue box will pop up showing those two options before you can leave the call. If you choose to end the session for everyone, everyone else including those in breakout rooms will receive a notification that they’ve been ejected from the meeting. After that, the host must join the call again first before they can rejoin as well. Teachers can prevent participants from a previous meeting when they want to meet with their students by starting an entirely new video conference.

“When a Google Workspace for Education Fundamentals or Education Plus host leaves their meeting, they can now choose to keep others on the call or to end the call instead, ejecting everyone else. In some cases, a host may not want people to continue a meeting without them present. For example, teachers may want to prevent students from having unsupervised meetings,” Google said.

To end a meeting for all participants, click/tap ‘Leave call’ on the bottom and click the ‘end meeting for all’ option that appears on the window.

The “end this call for everyone” feature is gradually rolling out to Rapid Release domains starting today while Scheduled Release domains will gradually receive it beginning March 8, 2021.

The new feature is not available to Google Workspace Essentials, Business Starter, Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, and Enterprise Plus, as well as G Suite Basic, Business, and Nonprofits customers.

Share and Enjoy !

0Shares
0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

0Shares
0 0