President Donald J. Trump Approves Puerto Rico Disaster Declaration

Today, President Donald J. Trump declared that a major disaster exists in the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and ordered Federal assistance to supplement recovery efforts in the areas affected by a severe storm and flooding on September 13, 2020.


The President’s action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in the Municipality of Arecibo.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Pete Gaynor, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Claude Hyacinthe as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected areas.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.